LCP Graduates the Class of 2019

On Tuesday, May 21, 2019, twenty-four graduating eighth-grade students from La Cañada Preparatory, adorned in blue baccalaureate caps and gowns, processed down the aisles of Lanterman Auditorium to “Pomp and Circumstance” before administration, faculty, family and friends.
The ceremony opened with Director Terry Villanueva giving the evening’s first remarks with a heartfelt good-bye and motherly words of advice to the graduating class.
Mr. Dennis Jebbie, chairman of the Board of Regents at La Salle College Preparatory School, presented graduates, Oliver Grenner and Clive Reeves, with the President’s Award, which includes a $50,000.00 academic scholarship.
Gregory Filipian received the Pioneer’s Spirit Merit Award from Providence High School, which includes a $10,000.00 academic scholarship.
Daniel Mo and Yuechin Li received honors upon entry certificates for St. Francis High School and Immaculate Heart respectively. Hayk Achemian and Joseph Choi received honors upon entry certificates at Providence High School.
Students in this year’s class were accepted by Campbell Hall, Flintridge Prep, Flintridge Sacred Heart, Harvard Westlake, Immaculate Heart, La Salle, Lawrence Academy, Louisville, Loyola, Maranatha, Notre Dame, Providence, Ramona Convent, St. Francis, The Governor’s Academy, and Westridge.
Upon receiving a diploma from Ms. Villanueva and Assistant Director, Justin Whalin, each graduate recited an original short poem of reflection he or she had written in language arts class based on the uncompleted phrase, “I am from . . . .”
At the conclusion of the ceremony, graduates, Eleena Amirian, Kerianne Bourdu, Paris Chan, Yuechen Li, Kirthana Senthil, and Kristina Seward, performed Jason Mraz’s “Have It All,” under the musical direction of LCP music teacher, Kris Maitlen. This year’s graduating class also included Hayk Achemian, Michael Anderson, Christopher Berube, Brian Boyer, Joseph Choi, Aren Demirdjian, Gregory Filipian, Bennett Goldman, Oliver Grenner, Martin Henderson, Eric Markaryan, David Mnatsakanyan, Daniel Mo, Clive Reeves, Van Stepanian, Anthony Venneri, and David Yurdumyan.
Ms. Villanueva concluded the ceremony by officially pronouncing the graduating Class of 2019 to all in attendance.

The Learning Castle & La Canada Prepatory

4490 Cornishon Ave., La Canada, CA 91011